Member Survey Member Login
Member Survey Member Login

2017-18 Scholarship Winners Honored at Luncheon in Manhattan

2017-18 Scholarship Winners Honored at Luncheon in Manhattan

June 13, 2017

On Friday, June 9th, 2017, winners of the Charles Johnson Jr. Memorial Scholarship were honored in Manhattan. For those who may not be aware, the NYCDCC Welfare Fund offers a Scholarship Program (known as the “Charles Johnson Jr. Memorial Scholarship”) for unmarried, dependent, biological, or adopted children of eligible members. The Scholarship Program pays up to $3,500 for each year of a four-year academic program at an accredited college or university, or until the child receives a bachelor’s degree, whichever occurs first. The maximum amount of the award is $14,000 per student.     

For the many who chose to attend this year’s luncheon, the event was a cheerful reminder of the students’ academic accomplishments. Throughout the event, it was obvious that the winners were thankful to receive their scholarships, and the Board of Trustees was thrilled to contribute to the higher education of twenty-five fine young students with bright futures ahead of them. Congratulations to those scholarship recipients who were not able to attend because of other commitments (e.g. final examinations, senior proms, etc.).

Once again, on behalf of the Board of Trustees, the NYCDCC Benefit Funds would like to congratulate this year’s Charles Johnson Jr. Memorial Scholarship winners.

Board of Trustees

Joseph A. Geiger                 David T. Meberg

Co-Chairman                      Co-Chairman

Paul Capurso                     Catherine Condon

Michael P. Cavanaugh       John DeLollis

Stephen C. McInnis           Paul O’Brien

John Sheehy                      Kevin O’Callaghan

Paul Tyznar                      Michael Salgo